Licensing for Models from TCIA CTs

Terrie S

I'm no lawyer so don't consider this legal advice, but you are not actually redistributing the original imaging scan that is licensed under CC. Rather, you are taking that data, manipulating it extensively, and creating your own work. So, I think it is fine for you to use their scans to create 3D printable derivative models, and fine for you then license the models you created. Maybe someone with a stronger legal background can comment.

By the way, I've seen some of your work and it is awesome. If you would care to share some models with the community in the file marketplace, it would be most welcome. Just at thought ;)

Thanks Dr. Mike! I'm fine with making my models freely available, but I don't like the idea of somebody trying to sell models that I made! I was curious to know how people decide whether to sell, which CC license to choose, or whether to even bother with licensing.

I'm working on getting some models up!  :)

If you share your models on Embodi3D's file marketplace, nobody can sell those digital files or models except you, unless you specify otherwise.

If you decide to distribute your files for free using one of the Creative Commons licenses, you can choose a "Non Commercial" license. That means that people who download your digital model cannot use it for commercial purposes (i.e. sell it).  You can also require that the downloader make no derivatives of your work. In other words they can share it but cannot modify it in any way. Or, you can allow them to modify your file but they are required to share that modified file under the same license terms that you shared it with them. In all cases, downloaders who share your file for commercial or non commercial purposes have to properly attribute you as the original author.