Recreation of Internal Structures and Individual bones

Clyde

Hi!

I'm wondering if anyone know is there is a way to create a 3D printable model that includes the internal structures of the bone? I'd like to recreate the bone inside a living animal with internal structures so that we may practice cutting into and exploring it as if it were the real thing.

Is there a way to have individual bones created as STL's as opposed to them being joined?

Thanks for you assistance!

Clyde

Are you looking to create the microarchitecture of the bone, i.e. tiny pores and crevices inside the medullary bone? To start with you will need a super high resolution CT scan - one that uses more radiation than a typical medical CT scan. Also, any STL file will have tremendous surface area and will be huge.

Thank you for your response, Dr. Mike. Firstly, as an engineer myself I'm sorry if I ask or say anything that truly shows my lack of knowledge in this area, I will try and research everything you ask such that I can communicate effectively.

The microarchitecture is probably a bit beyond what I'll be capable of reproducing with my printer, but It would be useful if I could extract the boundary of the compact bone to the medullary cavity/spongy bone. Whilst not truly mimcry, being able to print compact bone in one density and spongy bone in another should serve my purposes. Extracting just this boundary should also serve to reduce the size of the would be STL. Do you think this is achievable?

• 1 month later...

While I am not a fan of thresholding for segmentation, a decent scan should be able to distinguish between cortical and trabecular bone with different thresholding parameters.  You would need to run thresholding 2 separate times with different thresholding ranges.

My preferred method involves using region growing, where you could seed the trabecular and cortical bone with separate seeds and get separate entities.

• 8 months later...