3D print fetus from ultrasound images

Dr. Mike

I receive a lot of inquiries to my account. I'm going to try to share them with the community in the hope that any information that is shared can help many others. A member recently contacted me and asked the following:

"Do you have any experience in dicom images by TUI mode in Voluson E10, for print 3d fetus models"

Unfortunately, I don't personally have experience with 3D printing ultrasound images. I'm not sure how the slice-by-slice registration will work as ultrasound images are not in fixed orthographic planes. However, I know it must be possible since there is a company that is 3D printing fetuses. http://www.3ders.org/articles/20160118-3d-printed-fetuses-the-hottest-parenting-trend-of-2016.html

Anyone in the community have experience with converting ultrasound to STL?

I have some experience i am experimenting with 3d printing from us scans. I am in the stage that i have done a few prints and i am trying to streamline the process. If anyone can help on that and also receive help from my experience so far i would be happy to exchange ideas.

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Mauricio I would be interested in taking a look do you have a vol file I can look at?

In general 3D US renderings from scans look to have a long way to go before it is anywhere close to the quality of a decent MRI or CT

Mike

• 5 weeks later...
On 8 April 2017 at 5:36 AM, AntoniosA said:

I have some experience i am experimenting with 3d printing from us scans. I am in the stage that i have done a few prints and i am trying to streamline the process. If anyone can help on that and also receive help from my experience so far i would be happy to exchange ideas.

Hello AntoniosA,

We are trying to produce 3D prints of fetus from US scans and have just started looking ino the process.

We are a company that manufactures higher end bespoke 3D printers  for different purposes including some medical objects.