I have been printing bones for surgical planning for over 5 years.  I will sometimes invert a contralateral to create a "normal" template.  My next step is to create custom cutting or drilling jigs.  Does anyone have any experience with this?  Any suggestions for software?

Thanks,

Rick Papandrea, MD

Partner, Orthopaedic associates of WI

2014.forearm.pdf

While I haven't done this before from similar projects I can think of a fairly simple procedure:

1.  Create 3D model of anatomy to do surgery on

2.  Create cylinders to represent drill bits and place/orient them where you want

3.  Create a block that will represent the jig and orient it so it overlaps the anatomy

4. Do boolean subtractions to remove the cylinders (create holes) and intersecting anatomy (create reference surface)

Mike

Custom cutting and drilling guides for intra-op use are a specialized medical product and thus extra care needs to be taken. I am a big advocate of open source and free software, but in this case I think you should use FDA approved software such as Mimics from Materialise.  Unfortunately, it is pricy. Alternatively, you can contact a company that designs custom surgical guides and is aware of the evolving FDA guidance with respect to 3D printed medical devices. The image below is a pic I took at RSNA 2016 of a fibular cutting guide that was used in a mandibular reconstruction. It was made by the 3D systems subsidiary Medical Modeling.

Hope this helps.

large.20161201_113642.jpg

• 4 weeks later...

At the moment, FDA required materials are required for jig usage in practice in the US.  The cost is significant, but this is built from time saving for surgeons ($$$), FDA compliance ($$$$) and medicolegal risk ($$$$$).