Jump to content

6 Screenshots

About This File

The bony pelvis is formed by 4 bones; a pair of hip bones, the sacrum and the coccyx. The bony pelvis supports the pelvic viscera and works to transmit force from the axial skeleton to the lower limbs.
The two hip bones are related anteriorly by the symphysis pubis and posteriorly to the sacroiliac joints bilaterally.

The hip joint is a large synovial socket and ball joint which is formed by the femoral head (the ball) and the acetabulum (the socket). The acetabulum is formed by pelvic bones; the ilium, the ischium and the pubis.
The hip joint represents the articulation between the lower extremity and the axial skeleton and allows a high degree of mobility while being stable.
The muscles of the hip consist of four main groups;
Gluteal group: the gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, gluteus minimus and tensor fasciae latae
Adductor group: the adductor brevis, adductor longus, adductor magnus, pectineus and gracilis
Iliopsoas group: the iliacus and psoas major
Lateral rotator group: the externus and internus obturators, the piriformis, the superior and inferior gemelli and the quadratus femoris
Other hip muscles: the rectus femoris and the sartorius
The CT scan is derived from the file STS_037
The original CT examination can be reviewed at:
The 3D bone model created from this scan can be reviewed at:
The 3D skin model created from this scan can be reviewed at: 

User Feedback

You may only provide a review once you have downloaded the file.

There are no reviews to display.

  • Create New...